Auto-Recalculate Default Behavior
By default, whenever content is added or removed from a course or learning path, assigned user results will "Auto-Recalculate" unless the user is already complete for the assignment.
This is referred to as "Auto-Recalculation", which ensures that all learners in progress will show the accurate completion percentage for the current content. Completed users will not be affected unless the completed user is reassigned to the course or learning path, whether directly or via a team.
The default Auto-Recalculation process will initiate when one of the following actions are taken on a course:
- A module is added to the course
- A module is deleted from the course
- A module is marked as optional
- A module is marked as mandatory
- A completed, in progress, or not started user is assigned or reassigned to the course
- A completed, in progress, or not started user is added to a team which is assigned to the course
- A course is assigned to a team which has users who are completed, in progress, or not started
The default Auto-Recalculate will trigger for learners when one of the following actions is taken on a learning path.
- A course is added to the learning path
- A course is deleted from the learning path
- A course is marked as optional
- A course is marked as mandatory
- A module is added to a course in the learning path
- A module is deleted from a course in the learning path
- A module is marked as optional for a course in the learning path
- A module is marked as mandatory for a course in the learning path
- A completed, in progress, or not started user is assigned or reassigned to the learning path
- A completed, in progress, or not started user is added to a team which is assigned to the learning path
- A learning path is assigned to a team which has users who are completed, in progress, or not started
An alert message will appear within the content tab of courses and learning paths to alert Admins of the actions which may invoke auto-recalculation of completion progress.
Admins will have the option to override the default recalculate behavior by enabling the trigger to recalculate for all users including completed users automatically upon any content update as listed above. This is an opt-in feature that can be enabled for Courses and /or Learning paths via Account profile> Courses /Learning path as needed.
When this setting is enabled, the system will trigger the recalculation of all users on all courses and/or all LPs, when content is updated by adding, removing, or changing status (active/inactive or optional/mandatory) of the courses within the modules.
Once these settings are enabled all the individual course and Learning paths will show the following message in Learning path > Content and Courses > content tabs: "Adding or removing modules or changing status (active/inactive or optional/mandatory) will update results for all assigned users that are already complete and not complete."
Note: If Auto-recalculate is only enabled for the Learning path and updates are made to modules in a LP > Course the LP will not be recalculated.
Module Settings Does not trigger Auto-recalculate:
Updates to Modules such as replacing a file, adding a new assessment question to an assessment, or modifying module settings will not trigger auto-recalculation. These changes will be automatically available for users who are in-progress or have not started on the content.
- The checkbox “Change affects up to date status....” option on Module settings has been sunset. This means that the 'updated' label will not appear on the tiles any longer. Any update will automatically be reflected on the user completion progress of in-progress and incomplete users. Completed users will see the updates if they retake the course. All of the pre-existing ’Updated’ and ‘Course updated’ labels will continue to display on those course tiles until further action is taken.
- Important Note: Learners who have already earned an achievement by completing the Course or learning path will not be affected and only Learners that are Incomplete or Not Started will be recalculated.
- If a course has compliance enabled, and the Learner is reassigned to the updated course when the retake period has been triggered (or manually reassigned to the content), the completion percentage will be updated to reflect the current completion progress.
- The Option to manually “recalculate” users’ completion percentages upon updating modules, courses and learning paths has been sunset. However, this legacy option for manual recalculation will continue to display on the content tab until an Admin chooses to manually recalculate user’s results once more, or, the auto-recalculation is initiated by taking one of the qualifying actions listed above. If an Admin choose to perform the manual recalculation one more, it would only recalculate results for users based on the settings.