Admins and Account Owners can now save, edit, share, clone, and delete custom reports that are built using the Reporting Engine.
How do I save/schedule/share Reporting Engine Reports?
In order to save a report to your favorites, you will follow the same process in the reporting engine to Select Report-> Select Fields -> Filter -> Preview and Export. On the final Export step, the Schedule Export tab includes the options to:
- Build and Save the report which will save the report to your favorites. You can find your favorite reports on the reports dashboard
- Schedule Report
- Share the report in edit or view only mode with other users
Where can the saved/scheduled/shared Reporting Engine Reports be accessed?
The saved reports can be accessed via the Reports -> Manage Reports (My Saved/ Favorite Reports) section. The Manage Reports section will display the 5 most recently added reports, but by clicking on the button to “Show all scheduled reports” you can access and manage all the saved report definitions.
The Manage Reports section has tabs to view the reports that are either created by the account owner/admin logged in "Created by me" or that have been shared with the account owner/admin "Shared with me".
The Managed Reports section will display the 5 most recently added reports. Clicking on the “Show all scheduled reports” button will allow you to access and manage all the saved/scheduled reports.
The following Report types exist in the Manage Reports section:
- Reporting Engine Custom Reports - User will have the ability to edit, clone or delete the Custom Report based on the permissions
- Quick Reports - User can continue to view the saved Quick Report or delete the scheduled Quick Report
How can I edit an existing Reporting Engine Report?
To edit an existing report, click on the pencil icon as indicated below.
How can I clone an existing Reporting Engine Report?
To clone an existing report, click on the clone icon as indicated below.
This creates a copy of the existing report and renames it to the "Original Report Name (2)". The cloned report will copy all the fields, filters, scheduling options of the original report but will NOT copy the share settings or the schedule email to users settings. The cloned version "Email to" users will only include the email of the person who created the report.
How can I share an existing Reporting Engine Report?
Reports can be shared with Account Owners, Administrators, and Team Leader/Team Admins*. This essentially allows the other admins to view or edit the report in the report builder. To share a report, you will follow the same process in the reporting engine to Select Report-> Select Fields -> Filter -> Preview and Export. On the final Export step, the Schedule Export tab will now include the option "Share Report". The default permission selected is read only for all users that the report is shared with unless this is intentionally changed.
*Team reports can be shared with that team's Team Leaders/Team Admins if access to the Reporting Engine has been granted for team leaders/team admins. An Account Owner can enable this at: Account settings, Roles & Permissions,>Enable 'Reporting Engine: View assignments at the team and individual user level on relevant reports'
If a report is shared in edit mode, the person with whom the report is shared with has the ability to:
- Edit the report fields, filters, schedule, email recipients. Changes made by one user will take effect for all users with whom the report is shared with.
- Download the report
- Clone the report
- Delete the report
If a report is shared in read only mode, the person with whom the report is shared with has the ability to
- View the report definition and filters but cannot change anything
- Download the report
- Clone the report
The person with whom the report has been shared will see the following options to view or clone the report:
How can I delete an existing Reporting Engine Report?
To delete an existing saved report, simply click on the delete icon as shown below. Please note, if you delete the report, you will delete this for all the people that the report has been shared with as well.
What logging is available for the Reporting Engine Reports and where can this be accessed?
Once you access the Manage Reports page you can view the "Recent Activity" on the right of the page. This will show the 5 most recent entries and includes a link to access the complete listing of the logs.
Logs will exist for the following activities:
- Report Schedule Created by User X
- Report Schedule Updated by User X
- Report Schedule Deleted by User X
Clicking on the link to the activity log will take the account owner/admin to the logging page and default the filter to settings. Here you can view all logs pertaining to settings including the updates and deletions for the Learning paths, teams, courses, modules, reports etc.
When I edit an existing saved report and click on download now without saving on the schedule report tab? Clicking on the download now on an existing saved report will retain/save the changes and will be reflected in the download.